El Paso
57° F

San Eli Elections: early results show Maya Sanchez ahead

Published On: May 10 2014 08:33:39 PM CDT   Updated On: Feb 09 2015 08:43:53 PM CST

One of Texas oldest townships is marking a historic day Saturday. San Elizario is holding its elections for the first time.

As of 7:30 p.m. voting results on the El Paso County website show Maya Sanchez with 75 percent, Paul Johnson Jr. with 20.69 percent, and Carlos R. Guerrero with 4.31 percent. 

The polls opened at 7 Saturday morning. Poll officials said voters have been trickling in all day.

Up for election are five city council positions but the seat for mayor is the talk of the town. Those running for mayor are Maya Sanchez, Maria Cornival Ortiz, Paul Johnson and Carlos Guerrero.

Elected alderpersons in uncontested races include Leticia Hurado-Mira for Precinct 1, David S. Cantu for Precinct 2, and George Almanzar for Precinct 5. 

In contested races were Precinct 3 Miguel Najera Jr. with about 82 percent over Martin Chavarria with 18 percent; and Precinct 4 Rebecca Martinez with 85 percent over Micah Thornton with 15 percent.


The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms Of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. 
blog comments powered by Disqus