El Paso
64° F
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly Cloudy

Obama signs disaster declaration for New Mexico

Published On: Oct 30 2013 04:19:30 PM CDT

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration to provide federal aid to New Mexico for mid-September flooding and storm damage.
The White House says the federal assistance will supplement state and local recovery efforts in the affected areas.
According to the White House, the declaration means federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis with state and local governments and certain nonprofits for emergency work and repair or replacement of damaged facilities.
The counties where the funding is available are Catron, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Eddy, Guadalupe, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, Sandoval, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro, and Torrance.
The White House also says federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.


The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms Of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. 
blog comments powered by Disqus